Time Flies

As we reach the end of the semester, I have slowly begun to realize that I have just finished my second year in college. Assuming that I graduate on time, the first half of my college life has already come to an end. But it doesn’t exactly feel that way to me. It doesn’t feel like it’s been long since the day I received my acceptance letter from Ateneo. Since the day I left home and moved into a dormitory right outside the campus. Since the day that I decided to skip the first day of OrSem altogether because of my social anxiety. Since the day that my blockmate and I fell for each other and decided against it because of several small, but glaring, differences in our personalities. Since the day that I pulled my first all-nighter. Since the day I finally became a Dean’s Lister. Since the day I crammed my JTA application letter because I forgot about the due date. Since the day that I entered Dr. Garcia’s class where he told us to take a break.

In a few months time, it will be my third year in the Ateneo. It doesn’t even feel like two years have already passed. As I look back on my experiences in the past two years, I realized that there was a lot of things I could have improved on. There were so many projects which could have been done better if only I exerted a bit more effort. So many wasted opportunities to get higher grades if only I valued extra credit work. So many friends I could have had deeper relationships with if only I had not acted too rashly. So much time I could have spent doing more productive things if only I had learned to manage my time properly.

These are just typical “if-only” thoughts. Whatever had happened in the past two years has now become a part of me. Although I may have had a lot of regrets, I would not dare say that these past two years have been wasted. The failures of my past have helped me grow into the person I am today, and I am fairly confident that my past self did the best that he could in spite of his fear of failure anyway.

In the end, I like to think that time flew quickly for me because I also had fun. Along with all the stress that comes with being a student in the Ateneo, the past two years was still fun for me. With that in mind, I think I’m glad that I didn’t feel the passage of time, because it tells me that I had a lot of fun. I was able to experience everything I did and was still able to enjoy myself. All of the good things and all of the bad things. Now, there are two years remaining. Two more years left in my college life. Two more years of experiences.

And I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

